ro en


European Economic Area (EEA) was established in 1994 as a free trade area between the European Community (EC) and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). EEA brings together Member States of the European Union (EU) and three of the EFTA States (Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein), in an internal market based on free movement of goods, persons, services and capital.

On July 28, 2010, it was signed the Agreement between the European Union and the Governments of Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein for EEA Grants 2009-2014 on the assistance granted by them on the following period. Through this mechanism, Romania will receive financial assistance on several priority sectors.

EEA Grants 2009-2014 aim to reduce economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area and to strengthen bilateral relations between the donor states (Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein) and the beneficiary countries through the proposed priority sectors.

RO 06 Renewable Energy Programme (RONDINE), under the EEA Grants 2009-2014 aims at the sustainable use of natural resources and reducing emissions of greenhouse gases through the use of renewable energy.

In Romania, within the RO 06 Renewable Energy Programme (RONDINE) shall be financed projects with around 8 million non-reimbursable funds, available for areas with geothermal and hydropower potential. We mention that the non-reimbursable funds received from the donor states will be supplemented with 4.27 million EURO.

Financial allocation for RO 06 Renewable Energy Programme (RONDINE) shall be:

  • 85 % – EEA Grants 2009-2014
  • 15 % – state budget (Environment Fund)
    • Register

      Access the link below in order to sign up to our newsletter


    The EEA and Norway Grants have a
    no-tolerance policy on corruption and
    mismanagement. Complaints and alerts
    on suspected irregularities may be
    submitted directly to the Program Operator.
    Report Irregularities:

    • Follow us on Facebook